Resolutions filed in Illinois House and Senate to honor CCDOC Officers

State Capitol of Illinois in Springfield.

State Representative Marcus C. Evans, Jr. (D-Chicago) and State Senator Omar Aquino (D-Chicago) have each filed resolutions to honor the hard work and sacrifices made by Cook County Department of Corrections Officers during the COVID-19 Pandemic. The resolutions honor the six CCDOC officers and one sheriff’s deputy who lost their live due to COVID-19, and calls on Cook County officials to provide officers with the hazard pay they deserve.

“Being a corrections officer is already demanding and stressful, but the pandemic has brought on a whole new set of challenges and dangers for officers. They have been through a lot these last 9 months, and I grieve with the families who have lost their loved ones,” said Rep. Evans.

Upon passing the resolution, the Illinois State Assembly will present copies to the families of Sheila Rivera, Antoine Stewart, Antoine Jones, Jose Pedro Marquez, Richard O’Brien, Jason Bobzin, and Richard Santiago.

“Losing a loved one to COVID-19 is devastating, and my heart goes out to all of the families who’ve suffered during the pandemic. The least we could do was honor these hardworking men and women of the CCDOC and urge Cook County to reward the officers for their tireless service,” said Sen. Aquino.

Teamsters Local 700 is currently negotiating with Cook County to improve safety and security for CCDOC officers and actively fighting for more hazard pay for CCDOC officers.  

You can read the full resolution here:

%d bloggers like this: